The Story So Far…

If we’re going all the way, we’re going back quite a way, and as always, it starts with food.

Eight years ago in 2009, I was eating at Roka in London. Roka is a Japanese grill restaurant (flame grill, not like habachi grills), with my family. We’re a pretty foody family, but this was probably before I was really into food or cooking. Either way, it has always been one of the best meals I’ve ever had. At this time in my life, my school was pressuring me to choose a subject to study at university, but I had no idea what I wanted to do. It was then that it came to me, that I’d study Japanese.

Fastforward two years to 2011 and I took my first trip to Japan, and there, in a small, empty restaurant in Kyoto, I had my first real bowl of ramen. Unfortunately, I honestly can’t remember the food that much. With my incredibly limited Japanese at the time, it’s hard to know what it was. I just know there was pork, noodles and soup. Oh and an egg!

373

By 2013 I had been studying Japanese for several years, and I was living in Japan, studying, and regularly eating ramen. I had a part time job teaching English, and there was a little ramen shop across the street. That was when I first started thinking more about the process of making ramen, and I especially liked their chilli and garlic ramen.

 

After leaving Japan, things didn’t go so well, and I ended up leaving university. But by the time I had left, I had started to try and make my own ramen, and struggled with each version of my recipe. By the time I actually left, the idea of becoming a chef was in my mind, and of one day owning a ramen restaurant. Not long after that, the idea moulded to haing a truck, being my own boss and doing what I love doing! I couldn’t find decent source materials, so I made up the recipes myself, working each time towards what I believe is a proper bowl. And honestly, I still don’t think I’m there, but dammit I’m getting close!

IMG_2364

So there’s a brief, and very simplified story, of how I decided to start my own ramen shop, and then put it on wheels.

 

As always, #StayGolden .

Leave a Reply

